The colorful wolf

April 27, 2010

Kyoto in the rain

Filed under: Photography,Spirit of Japan,Uncategorized — randy @ 20:18
Tags: ,

I walked around Gion district in the rain today. Despite the rain it was a very nice experience. The area just feels so nice and old. I’ve been to Kyoto before but didn’t wander around this area at all, which is a real shame. So much nice atmosphere here.

A bridge in the Gion district

Lots of shops and bars nearby

Nice street.

City center as seen from the east

Even the bridges look nice

The public bath is always a place to strike up a conversation. Today I talked to an old man who was traveling around Japan. It’s amazing how many old Japanese people you meet in youth hostels. Yesterday at the youth hostel there was only me and one old man. Today there’s me and two old men. They’re multiplying. Anyway, this old man told me he was 61 and retired. He still had a job but he only has to work 3-4 days per month, to earn what he refers to as his ‘allowance’. The funny thing is, this man had his business in Hiratsuka, the place near the seaside that I always used to cycle to. It seems like quite a coincidence to meet someone so close to where I’m from. Quite a coincidence indeed, because the old man I met yesterday lived near Ebina, another place close to Atsugi.

Tomorrow’s weather will be nice!

2 Comments »

  1. Absolutely love the third picture from top. Probably it’s because looking out of the window from the 15th floor right now, i can’t spot a single power line. Then again, this leaves plenty of room for tees and stuff. I prefer urban look and feel though.

    Also, you used the word “nice” six times in this post, I declare that a sign that you will enjoy the next days.

    Comment by nicola — April 27, 2010 @ 20:44 | Reply

  2. I recommend going back to Gion at night, when the rich people go out for a drink. I though there was a striking difference between the “Old Rich” Japan of Gion and the “New Rich” of bling-bling Tokyo; the small private clubs, the well dressed people, the soft light and small alleys, the canal.

    I know you’ve probably visited many placed in Kyoto, but if you haven’t visited the Kenninji Zen temple, I wholeheartedly recommend it. I would say that it’s my favorite place in Japan (not kidding). If I could live there, wearing big robes and woolen socks, and just look at the rocks and garden and drag my feet on the used soft wooden floors, I would. Go take a break there. 😉

    I wanted to post the map to the place, but here’s their webpage instead. http://www.kenninji.jp/english/index.html
    Oh, and by looking at the site, I just remembered how mesmerizing the Twin Dragons, painted on the ceiling were.
    Really, I’d go tomorrow if I could.

    Comment by Alex — April 27, 2010 @ 23:27 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

